CFU Champs: San Juan Jabloteh, Cibao FC to contest final

San Juan Jabloteh and Portmore United

San Juan Jabloteh and Cibao FC will contest the final of the 2017 Caribbean Club Championship finals following the completion of the final round of group matches in Trinidad and Tobago on Thursday night. The results also mean that two-time defending champion Central FC will not win a third straight crown.

In Group A action at the Hasely Crawford Stadium Patrick Soko (54’) scored the only goal as Cibao FC of the Dominican Republic defeated two-time defending champion Central FC of Trinidad & Tobago to finish first in Group A and book a date with San Juan Jabloteh in the final.

It was the first time Central FC lost a match in 10 matches in the competition having won seven and drawn two of their previous nine matches.

The result also means that Central FC will play in the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, while Greandes FC of Antigua & Barbuda was eliminated from the competition.

Meanwhile, in Group B, San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago) only needed a point to reach the final and that’s what it got, holding on to secure a 2-2 draw with Portmore United (Jamaica).

Adrian Reid (34’ pen) and Vurlon Mills (41’) gave the San Juan Kings a 2-0 lead, before Portmore United stormed back with two late goals through Jermie Lynch (85’); Ewan Grandison (87’).

Both teams ended the group stage with four points but the T&T unit advanced by virtue of a superior goal difference.

With the result, Portmore United qualified for the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, while Jabloteh can earn a place in the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League with a win over Cibao FC in Sunday’s final. 

No votes yet
Caribbean Club Championships: San Juan Jabloteh: Cibao FC: Portmore United: Central FC