Kyle Gregg dominates Richard Stewart Memorial Rally, defends title

By December 09, 2019

Kyle Gregg said he could not have asked for a better ending to the year following his dominating victory on the weekend in the Richard Stewart Memorial Rally Jamaica in Bog Walk St Catherine.

Gregg and co-pilot Marcia Dawes took the early lead on Saturday and dominated the 22-stage rally, which concluded on Sunday evening.

Gregg and Dawes completed the stages in 1:49:12.012, well clear of Thomas Hall and James Lechler, 1:50:15.966 and Timothy Stewart and Stephen Gunter 1:51:46.012.

Gregg, who is also Jamaica’s driving champion on the Dover circuit, expressed gratitude at the end of the gruelling two-day event.

“This year, Dover Thundersport champion and Jamaica Rally Champion. I couldn’t ask for anything better. The course was a lot tougher, new stages, new configurations, so it was a level playing field,” he told Sportsmax.TV on Sunday.

“This year the competition was great. It was a very competitive field. Basically, five of us could have won the rally.”

Gregg said his team took a cautious approach at the start of the rally, a move that paid off mid-way the first day.

“Saturday, in the morning, we decided to drive at our own pace and see where we were based on every other competitor’s time. At lunch-time we found ourselves about six seconds in front of Lee Vaz,” he explained. “After lunch, we decided to turn it up, driving a little harder, which resulted in us having a minute-plus lead.”

At the close on Saturday, Gregg and Dawes (49:28.020) led Stewart/Gunter (51:28.675) and Hall/Lechler (51:31:190).

There were two crashes on the day. The team of Joel Jackson and Dmitri Dawkins, who had been making progress up the standings crashed on Special Stage Six and was unable to continue citing significant damage to his Subaru.

Lee Vaz and Michael Fennell Jr rolled and suffered minor structural damage. However, they eventually unable to continue.

However, Gregg completed day one in good shape and raced within their potential to ensure victory.

“On day two, we had such a huge gap we decided to just maintain our pace and basically bring the car home. Marcia and I had a lot on the line trying to win back-to-back Rally Jamaica championships, which we ended up doing,” he said.

“It feels great.”

Leslie Madden and Sean Williams (1:57.53.155) were fourth with Bobby Marshall and Marcel Brandon (2:06:59.700) finishing fifth.

Raynor King and Ramseses McGregor (2:08:29.308) ended sixth while Derrick McDowell and Michael Isaacs (2:34:10.305) were seventh.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

  • Sweet revenge as Jamaica defeats South Africa 59-54 in Vitality Nations Cup Sweet revenge as Jamaica defeats South Africa 59-54 in Vitality Nations Cup

    Sunshine Girl vice-captain Nicole Dixon showered praise on head coach Connie Francis following Sunday’s 59-54 win over South Africa in their opening match of the 2020 Vitality Nations Cup.

  • 'Let us run' – Fraser-Pryce insists athletes must retire on own terms 'Let us run' – Fraser-Pryce insists athletes must retire on own terms

    Jamaican sprint superstar Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce insists athletes should retire on their own terms not feel pressure to step aside due to factors like aging.

    With sprinting and sports in general often considered the domain of younger athlete, Fraser-Pryce became one of several current stars willing to buck that trend after capturing gold at the Doha World Championships last year.  In the process, she became the oldest woman to ever win 100m gold at a global championship.  The 33-year-old also became the only sprinter to be crowned world champion over the 100m four times (2009, 2013, 2015 and 2019) and the first woman to hold dual world and Olympic titles on two separate occasions.

    With 10-years having passed since she made her debut as a 21-year-old at the 2008 Olympic Games, her achievements are as much a testament to her longevity as much as it is to her talent.

    “The last time I won this award was 2015 and to be here over a decade later still representing the unique legacy that we have here for Jamaica in sprinting and athletics is a huge honour,” Fraser-Pryce said.

    “I hope that with this award a lot more athletes can understand that there is so much more to us as athletes and so much more to give.  You decide when its time to go,” she added.

    Fraser-Pryce registered another milestone two years ago when she took time off from the sport to have her first child.


  • Fraser-Pryce, Gayle named Jamaica's athletes of the year Fraser-Pryce, Gayle named Jamaica's athletes of the year

    World Champions Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Tajay Gayle were named the 2019 RJRGleaner Sports Foundation Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year in an awards ceremony at the Jamaica Pegasus on Friday.

    Fraser-Pryce saw the award presented to her for a fourth time, having previously claimed the honour in 2012, 2013 and 2015.  The recognition capped off an exceptional season for the diminutive sprinter who previously became the only athlete to win the 100m World Championship title on four occasions with triumph in Doha.

    Quartermiler Shericka Jackson, who claimed three gold medals at the World Championships, with bronze in the 400m and 4x400m along with gold in the 4x100m, was runner up behind Fraser-Pryce.

    The year was also an exceptional one for Gayle.  The athlete created history at the Doha World Championships after upstaging Juan Miguel Echevarria to claim top spot.  The winning jump was the longest in the world in 10 years.  It was also the farthest distance recorded at the World Championships since Ivan Pedroso’s 8.70m leap in Gothenburg, recorded some 24 years ago.

    Fedrick Dacres, the World Championships discus silver medallist, was voted runner up to the Sportsman of the Year.  The other male nominees were Christopher Binnie (squash), Yona Knight-Wisdom (diving) and Travis Smikle (athletics).  Fraser-Pryce and Jackson were joined by Alia Atkinson (swimming) and Rushell Clayton, Natoya Goule, Shanieka Ricketts, Danniel Thomas-Dodd, Elaine Thompson and Danielle Williams.

© 2020 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.