Duhaney Park Red Sharks demolish Warriors, wins sixth rugby league title

By September 17, 2018
The Red Sharks are six-time national champions. The Red Sharks are six-time national champions.

Duhaney Park Red Sharks devoured the JDF Warriors on the weekend to successfully defend their RLATG National Club Rugby League title and win the championship for a record sixth time.

Before a large crowd, national centre Renaldo Wade scored a hat-trick of tries as the Sharks won 56-12 dominated from start to finish on the back of sublime passing and running from their speedy centers and wingers. They were comfortably ahead 28-6 at halftime and the second half saw them continue to dominate all aspects of the game.

He got good support from Andrew Simpson who scored two tries and one each from, Kenneth Walker, Ryan Grant, Joseph Shae, Owen Linton and Jermaine Pinnock. Grant also kicked five goals and Miguel Facey 1.

For the JDF, Ramone Carr scored a try and kicked a goal for eight points. Demone Williams also scored a try for the soldiers.

 “This was really a challenging year for us. We spoke about history before the game. This is our third time meeting the Warriors in a Grand Finals, we lost the previous two,” said Red Sharks Assistant Coach Roy Calvert.

“We wanted to be the first club to win four in a row and also the first to win six NCC titles. Some really meticulous plans went into making this season successful and we are proud of the boys.”

The Sharks now focus to the National Knock-Out Cup that begins next Saturday and the National Division II Championship that commences the end of October.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At SportsMax.tv he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

  • St George's books semi-final berth with 2-0 win over Hydel St George's books semi-final berth with 2-0 win over Hydel

    A goal from Player of the Match Chantimoi Taylor and an own goal propelled St.George’s College to a 2-0 win over defending champions Hydel High in the quarter-finals of the Walker Cup at Stadium East in Kingston on Friday.

  • Tahlia Richardson, Mikhail Williams dominate All-Jamaica U19 Badminton champs Tahlia Richardson, Mikhail Williams dominate All-Jamaica U19 Badminton champs

    Tahlia Richardson and Mickhail Williams were triple champions at the 2019 All Jamaica U19 Badminton Championships held at the Alfred Sangster Auditorium in Kingston on the weekend.

  • Jamaica dominates Caribbean Cup pistol championships Jamaica dominates Caribbean Cup pistol championships

     Jamaican shooters dominated the Caribbean Cup Pistol Shooting Championships held at the Jamaica Rifle Associations headquarters over the weekend.

    With more than 70 shooters in contention, Team Jamaica won two divisional titles, the Ladies’ category and all three senior categories for a stellar showing at the prestigious regional contest. 

    Darrin Richards topped the Production Division with 1013 points while Chris Hart scored 923 to take second and Ryan Grala made 921 to place third.

    The local shooters also had the edge in Standard Category where Ryan Bramwell won gold with 941 points ahead of teammate Greg Henry who took silver with 911. Gerard Gill of Barbados claimed bronze with 846.  

    Caymanian Tony Campney prevented a Jamaican divisional sweep by winning the Open competition with 1045 points.

    Local favourite Kevin Cheung who scored 1005 for the silver medal while Kevin Grant of Barbados won the bronze with a score of 812. 

    However, on the strength of their showing in the three divisions, Jamaica amassed 2870 points to emerge as regional champions.  Cayman was second with 2629 points; while Barbados scored 2172 to place third and Trinidad and Tobago were fourth with 2027.

    In the Ladies’ competition, top local female shooter, Yeonie Campbell-Simpson stamped her authority on the field scoring 669 points.

    Her teammates Rene Rickhi and Tena-Shay McMorris scored 433 and 299 to place second and third respectively.

    Then in the Seniors category, Jamaica’s David McMorris topped the Open competition with 708 points. Christopher Nunez won the Production title with 838 points and Owen Campbell took the Standard competition with 756 points.

    Tournament Director, Lennox “Lenny” Moulton expressed satisfaction with the high standard of shooting and sportsmanship throughout the competition and the brilliant display by Team Jamaica.

    “We had a high turn out with more than 70 shooters from four countries entering the championships and they put on a display which underscored why they are some of the best shooters in the Caribbean,” he said.

    “Of course, we were particularly proud of Team Jamaica for winning the competition overall and for the strong showing across all categories.  Our shooters have been training hard and competing consistently both locally and overseas and I think the effort they put into their preparation definitely paid off,” Moulton added.


© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.