Manchester Spurs drub St. James Sharpes for sixth-straight win

By December 13, 2018

 Manchester Spurs continued on their merry clip in Netball Jamaica’s Berger Elite League Wednesday night, brushing aside St. James Sharpes 52-38 for their sixth consecutive victory.

The Spurs led 12-8, 26-17 and 39-26 through the first three quarters on their way to the big win.

Gezelle Allison led the scoring with 26 from 35 attempts while Anna-Kay Griffiths (17 of 25) and Nicole Dixon (9 from 12) completing the scoring for the winners.

Kestina Sturridge scored 23 goals from 38 attempts for the Sharpes, who also got Connique Moore scored eight from 10 and  Shanice Howe six from nine.

However, despite the win, Coach Connie Francis was too happy. “I thought we played lethargic, lacked energy, numerous turnovers,” she bemoaned. “But all in all I’m glad it’s this game that we decided not to step up to the plate.”

Her comments are timely considering that the next assignment for the Spurs is the defending champions, Kingston Hummingbirds on Saturday, a repeat of last season’s final. Francis knows her team has to be better against them.

 “There are areas, both ends of the court that need some working on. We’re trying, it doesn’t matter, (they’re) very talented players, but if we don’t fix all of these errors that we’re making then we won’t stand a chance of winning the championship,” she said.

Meanwhile, the Hummingbirds are six points behind after they won a truncated match against the St. Catherine Racers 43-21. The match was rained up with just over six minutes remaining in the third quarter but by rule once a half of the game is completed, in the case of an interruption, the team leading is declared the winner.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.