Pakistan umpire apologizes for bad no-ball call against Windies

By Sports Desk December 23, 2018

Umpire Tanvir Ahmed the official, who drew the ire of Windies captain Carlos Brathwaite, after several questionable calls during the team’s decisive T20I against Bangladesh, has apologised for some of the decisions.

Ahmed caused plenty of controversy on Saturday after twice calling Windies pacer Oshane Thomas for a no ball.  The umpire deemed Thomas to have overstepped the crease in the final ball of the fourth over, as Bangladesh chased 191.  Ahmed had also called a no-ball on the previous delivery.  Both calls resulted in free hits, which saw the balls dispatched for a pair of sixes.

The West Indies went to win the match by 50 runs but Brathwaite was far from a happy man.  The second no-ball call led the Windies captain to protest against the decision, which held up play for about eight minutes.  Ahmed has since apologised for the errors.

"In terms of a no-ball, there is always the issue of the foot and the line being close to each other," Tanvir told Prothom Alo. "And if the bowler jumps quickly, there are occasions when it is difficult to spot it. I am new to international cricket, I made a mistake.

"If you look at my past, I don't have a bad history. It was one mistake. Inshallah, I will come back well. Every person has good days and bad days. Yesterday I had a bad day. The match just ended yesterday. I am not focusing on anything else. I am thinking about my mistake."

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.