South Africa women to take three debutants on Caribbean tour

By August 22, 2018
South Africa women's team. South Africa women's team.

The names Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith and Robyn Searle are new on the international scene, and will be part of international women’s cricket for the first time when South Africa travel to the Caribbean for three-match ODI and five-match T20I series in Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago this September. 

The three were picked after performing well during Cricket South Africa’s North vs South competition in Pretoria. That competition, pits 26 of the country’s most promising cricketers in a three-day competition.

South Africa are looking to rebound from a 3-1 ODI series loss on a tour of England, with the three new additions expected to bring more balance to the unit.

The Proteas are also looking for ways of getting acclimatized to playing in the Caribbean ahead of the World T20s in November.  

“As a selection panel, we conducted a debrief from the England tour and also the successful Bangladesh tour prior to that. We discovered that there were a few areas where the team was falling short and we realised we had to look at different options and different types of skill sets to try and set ourselves up well for the West Indies tour with the World Cup not far behind after that,” said  National convenor of selectors Clinton Du Preez.

While there is immediate focus on the T20 World Cup in November, there will also be attention paid to the ODIs which form part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

The ICC Women’s Championship provides points towards World Cup qualification in 2021.

Paul-Andre Walker

Paul-Andre is the Managing Editor at He comes to the role with almost 20 years of experience as journalist. That experience includes all facets of media. He began as a sports Journalist in 2001, quickly moving into radio, where he was an editor before becoming a news editor and then an entertainment editor with one of the biggest media houses in the Caribbean.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.