Briana Williams, Wayne Pinnock lead 80-member Jamaica team to Carifta Games

By April 11, 2019

Despite the absence of some of the island’s top high school athletes, Jamaica’s head coach Marlon Gayle believes the defending champions will be a strong, competitive force at the 48th edition of the Carifta Games later this month.

Jamaica is sending an 80-member team to the 2019 Games scheduled for April 20-23 in the Cayman Islands having won the last 34 editions of the Games that began in 1973. The last country outside Jamaica to win the Carifta Games was the Bahamas in 1984.

Briana Williams and Wayne Pinnock are at the forefront of the squad expected to win a 35th consecutive title despite the absence of athletes like Kevona Davis, Tina and Tia Clayton, Ashanti Moore, Charokee Young and Michael Stephens, among others.

Gayle indicated that even though these athletes will not be competing, Jamaica possesses the requisite depth that should see them through to another title.

“We have a lot more outstanding performances across the board among the girls. The top four of five ere close during the trials. I still think we have outstanding athletes. We still have a strong team that is can compete against the best in the girls,” Gayle told Sportsmax.TV Thursday.

It’s a similar situation with the boys, he said while expressing the hope that there are no niggling injuries that may have escaped the selection panel during the trials that were held last weekend.

He believes that Jamaica will be strong right across the board, especially in the sprints and in the field events as most of the athletes who performed well at the ISSA Boys and Girls Championships showed up at the last weekend’s trials.

Gayle said he would now depend on the athletes’ personal coaches to keep them sharp while affording them the active rest they need to be able to compete at their best.

The U17 boys’ squad is comprised of J’Voughnn Blake, Jayden Brown, Blaine Byam, Jaheim Cox, Tariq Dacres, Tahj Hamm, Tafar-Hi Hinds, Adrian Kerr, Deshaun Lamb, Kobe Lawrence, Richard Nelson, Adrian Nethersole, Bouwahjgie Nkrumie, Brandon Pottinger, Rajaun Ricketts, Christopher Scott, Sharvis Simmonds, Neil-Matthew Sutherland and Christopher Young.

Girls: Carleta Bernard, Paula-Ann Chambers, Kay-Lagay Clarke, Malaika Cunningham, Quaycian Davis, Glacian Loutin, Onanda Lowe, Brianna Lyston, Annisha McDonald, Jodiann Mitchell, Dejanea Oakley, Samantha Pryce, Sashell Reid, Kishay Rowe, Rickiann Russell, Chrystal Shaw, Cedricka Williams and  Damali Williams.

U20 Boys: Romaine Beckford, Rasheed Broadbell, Shamar Brown, Fabian Campbell, Kai Chang, Antony Cox, David Edmondson, Apalos Edwards, Kimar Farquharson, Cobe Graham, Horatio Humphrey, Ralford Mullings, Xavier Nairne, Wayne Pinnock, Tyrese Reid, Ryiem Robertson, Oblique Seville, Tyrice Taylor, Jordan Turner, Vashaun Vacianna, Kevroy Venson, Antonio Watson and Evaldo Whitehorne

U20 Girls:  Annakay Allen, Kelly-Ann Beckford, Lotavia Brown, Janique Burgher, Cherice Cope, Marie Forbes, Joanne Reid, Shaquena Foote, Anneisha Lawrence, Crystal Morrison, Kemba Nelson, Ackera Nugent, Nickisha Pryce, Kimone Reid, Nia Robinson, Abigail Schaafe, Danielle Sloley, Johnelle Thomas, Briana Williams and Thalia Wilson.



Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

© 2020 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.